Why Vote?

It is important that everyone who can vote does vote. Your vote is the best opportunity you get to voice your opinion on how the Country is run.

Local elections are held every five years to elect Councillors. The 2009 Local Elections will be held on Friday 5th June 2009 along with the European Elections. 30 County Councillors will be elected to Galway County Council from the 5 electoral areas of Ballinasloe, Connemara, Loughrea, Oranmore and Tuam.

In addition to this 9 Councillors will also be elected to each of the Town Councils in Ballinasloe, Tuam and Loughrea. Voters in these towns have a right to vote in both County Council and Town Council elections.

Who can Vote?

Every adult resident in Ireland is entitled to be registered to vote. Citizenship determines which election you can vote in.

- Local Elections: Resident Irish, British, other EU citizens and Non-EU citizens are all entitled to vote in local elections.
- European Elections: Resident Irish, British and EU citizens can also vote in European elections.

To vote in County Galway Local and European Elections

- You must live in the County of Galway (see map)
- You must be registered on the Register of Electors
- You must be over 18 years of age

How do I know if I am on the Register of Electors?

You can see if you are on the Register of Electors by enquiring in the County Council Offices, your public library, the local post office or your local Garda station. You can also check at www.checktheregister.ie

What if I am not on the Register?

If you are not already on the register you can apply to be included in the Supplement to the Register of Electors. This can be done by filling out the form **RFA2**. This form, available from the County Council Offices, public libraries, post offices and Garda Stations, must be signed at your local Garda station (don't forget to bring your photo ID). The form should then be sent back to Galway County Council before **Monday 18**th **May 2009**.

How do I vote?

Where you live determines where you vote. Each Street/Road is designated a particular polling station.

Everyone who is on the register should receive a polling card. This gives your name, address and the polling station you should go to. Bring your polling card and photo ID to the polling station. If you don't receive your polling card please refer to the contact list below.

When you arrive at the polling station, go to the desk to be identified and marked off the register. You are then handed the relevant ballot paper. This displays the names of the candidates in alphabetical order, their photographs and the political party (if any) to which they belong.

You then go to the booth and fill in your ballot paper in private. It is important to write 1 beside the name of your first choice, 2 beside the name of your second choice, 3 beside your third choice and so on as far as you wish to go. Do **NOT** mark X or √ in any box.

Fold your ballot paper and place it in the special box – the ballot box.

For more information please contact:

Website: www.galway.ie/en/AboutYourCouncil/RegisterofElectors

E mail: register@galwaycoco.ie

Phone: Register of Electors at: (091) 509310

Address: Register of Electors, Galway County Council, County Hall,

Prospect Hill, Galway.